Kale Salad Time-Always!

The beautiful thing about Kale is that you can eat it all year long because it grows all year long!

It just keeps on giving! Hence the name King of Vegetables!

I just harvested some kale and I made myself a delicious scrumptious salad that I will share with you💚

Washing the kale thoroughly is important, rinse again and again.
I remove the spine, it doesn’t taste that great in a salad but sometimes I save it for a stew to give it some flavour.
Sometimes I’m overwhelmed with an abundance of kale so I’ll stuff it in a freezer bag after I wash it and place it in the freezer, take it out the next day, crush it and put it back in the freezer. Now I have kale anytime I want… for my smoothies or stews!

My kale has been rinsed and drained from the water and ready to get the salad started.

Must massage the kale first, it is vital for a tasty kale salad. Drizzle some extra-virgin olive oil with a sprinkle of sea salt and massage for a couple of minutes .You will notice how much softer the texture of the kale gets, and oh the pleasing scent of the kale will enhance. This step will ensure the kale will be much more pleasant to eat.
Add some cherry tomatoes and cucumbers, sliced them up thin.
I love goat feta cheese, I sprinkled some of it on top… how much you ask, well it all depends on how much you love it!
Now I added pecans, dried cranberries and pumpkin seeds. We’re almost done!
Fresh lemon juice is now added, make sure you strain the seeds. I used half a lemon because I was making a salad for four. I sprinkled a little pepper and tasted to see if it needed a little bit more salt.
But just a little. Now toss and enjoy!!

Now that’s one way of making a kale salad. You can use all kind of varieties on your kale, you can be as creative as you want. As long as you start off with massaging the kale with olive oil and a little bit of sea salt then you can do whatever your taste buds desire.

Sometimes I just add proteins such as cubes of chicken breast with some chia & flax seeds and an avocado!

Hope that helps. Remember: Love your kale, she’s always there for you!

About Eva Aboud

Eva Aboud is a community outreach /food security coordinator. She has worked at Frog Hollow Neighbourhood House since 2004. And is very passionate about her work. She loves the Frog Hollow community and continues to learn and connect with people from not just the neighbourhood but from all over the world! Also a Blogger at The Power Of Positive Change https://thepowerofpositivechange.com/
This entry was posted in Food and Garden, Informational and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment